Local News
Four Jasper Troopers Honored At Awards Ceremony

Four Jasper Troopers Honored At Awards Ceremony

Indianapolis (From Sources) – Four Indiana State Police troopers from the Jasper District were honored Friday during an awards ceremony at the Indiana Government Center. Troopers Michael Allen, Brock Werne, Stephen Sexton, and Jeremy Galloway were presented awards for their service to the State of Indiana.

troopers editedTrooper Allen was awarded the Bronze Star and a Combat Action Award for his actions on September 4, 2015, in which he was involved in an officer-involved shooting in French Lick. His actions involved “personal bravery and self-sacrifice at a level clearly beyond expectations”.

Trooper Werne was awarded a Lifesaving Award for his actions on June 15, 2015. While patrolling U.S. 231 between Jasper and Huntingburg he observed a man standing on the bridge. Stopping to ask if the man needed assistance, he learned that the man was about to jump from the bridge in an attempt to commit suicide. He talked to the man, calming him down to the extent that he was able to get close enough to grab him and pull him from the edge of the bridge. Werne was commended for his “extraordinary conduct in saving the life of a fellow human being”.

Trooper Sexton was presented with the 2015 Jasper District Trooper of the Year Award. He was presented the award for achieving outstanding enforcement efforts in the areas of traffic and criminal enforcement, case and crash investigations, public information programs and community service, and for exemplifying the professionalism and integrity expected of an Indiana State Trooper.

The O.W.I. (Operating While Intoxicated) Award was presented to Trooper Galloway for his efforts in removing impaired and intoxicated motorists from Indiana’s roadways. He was rewarded for his efforts of arresting 49 impaired drivers in 2015. Galloway also received the top O.W.I. award in 2014.

An ISP news release states, “The actions and dedication to duty of troopers Allen, Werne, Sexton, and Galloway are in keeping with the finest traditions of law enforcement and reflect great credit upon themselves and the Indiana State Police Department.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *