Local News
Local Catholice Churches Now Part Of East Deanery Of Evansville Diocese

Local Catholice Churches Now Part Of East Deanery Of Evansville Diocese


EVANSVILLE (By Tim Lilly / Editor – The Message) – The Diocese of Evansville now has four deaneries for its 54 parishes. This realignment decreases the number of deaneries by three.

Bishop Charles C. Thompson issued the decree realigning deaneries on March 31.

“Catholics across the diocese will not notice significant differences in their parishes,” said Diocese of Evansville Chancellor Tim McGuire.

“Throughout the series of listening sessions Bishop (Charles C.) Thompson held during the two rounds of parish reorganization, he talked about realigning the deaneries. The new alignment will continue to build on existing relationships among our parishes.”

The new alignment includes North, South, East and West deaneries (see map).  Local Catholic churches are now in the East Deanery (see below).  Prior to July 1st there were seven deaneries in the Diocese (Evansville East, Evansville West, Jasper, Newburgh, Princeton, Vincennes and Washington).

Parishes in each deanery include:

North — Holy Name, Bloomfield; Our Lady of Hope, Washington; St. Joan of Arc, Jasonville; St. John, Loogootee; St. Mary, Sullivan; St. Peter, Montgomery; St. Philip Neri, Bicknell; St. Francis Xavier, Vincennes; St. Peter, Linton; St. John, Vincennes; St. Vincent de Paul, Vincennes; St. Thomas, Vincennes; and Sacred Heart, Vincennes.

Father Dave Fleck will serve as dean while continuing as pastor of St. Francis Xavier, St. John and St. Vincent parishes in Vincennes; administratorof Sacred Heart Parish in Vincennes and St. Philip Neri Parish in Bicknell; and moderator of St. Thomas Parish in Vincennes.

South — Annunciation, Evansville; Good Shepherd, Evansville; Holy Redeemer, Evansville; Holy Rosary, Evansville; Resurrection, Evansville; St. Anthony, Evansville; St. Benedict Cathedral, Evansville; St. Boniface, Evansville; St. Clement, Boonville; St. John the Baptist, Newburgh; St. John the Evangelist, Daylight; Sts. Mary
and John, Evansville; St. Theresa, Evansville; and Nativity, Evansville.

Father Phil Kreilein will serve as dean while continuing as pastor of Resurrection Parish in Evansville.

East — Holy Family, Jasper; Precious Blood, Jasper; St. Anthony, St. Anthony; St. Bernard, Rockport; St. Peter Celestine, Celestine; St. Ferdinand, Ferdinand; St. Henry, St. Henry; St. Joseph, Jasper; St. Francis, Dale; St. Martin, Chrisney; St. Mary, Huntingburg; St. Mary, Ireland; Sacred Heart of Jesus; Schnellville; and St. Raphael, Dubois.

Father Ray Brenner will serve as dean while continuing as pastor of St. Joseph Parish in Jasper.

West — Blessed Sacrament, Oakland City; Corpus Christi, Evansville; Holy Cross, Ft. Branch; St. Bernard, Snake Run; St. James, Haubstadt; St. Joseph, Princeton; St. Philip, Evansville; St. Francis, Poseyville; St. Matthew, Mt. Vernon; St. Wendel, St. Wendel; Sts. Peter and Paul, Haubstadt; Sts. Peter and Paul, Petersburg; and St. Joseph, Vanderburgh County.

Father Ron Zgunda will serve as dean while continuing as pastor of St. Joseph Parish in Princeton and St. Bernard Parish in Snake Run.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *