Visit Dubois County

Ivy Tech Community College annual Benefactor Awards

Evansville, IN –Dr. Thomas and Nelda Hickey, long time Ivy Tech Community College Evansville Campus supporters, were one of 15 winners of the Ivy Tech Foundation’s ninth annual Benefactor Awards. The honor was presented Thursday, Sept. 26, at the French Lick Hotel.

During this event, the Foundation honored individuals, corporations and foundations from Indiana who have considerably impacted Ivy Tech communities and students. The award celebrates the gifts and volunteer service that has been contributed to the College.

“With our deepest appreciation, we celebrate each of our benefactors for their passion, unconditional commitment and enduring dedication to the success of our students,” said John M. Murphy, President of Ivy Tech Foundation.  “Our benefactors are incredibly generous community leaders who are creating future opportunities for our friends, families and neighbors and we are extremely grateful.”

The Hickeys established their scholarship in 1988 to assist Ivy Tech graduates who wish to make a career change or enhance their current career in some way. They said they established it because they realize that financial assistance is not always readily available for such circumstances.

Tom and Nelda have a long history with Ivy Tech. Nelda retired from Ivy Tech in 2000 as business office manager, after serving for 26 ½ years.  Tom retired from Bristol-Myers Squibb as director of Veterinary Sciences. He took classes at Ivy Tech for three years and graduated from the Commercial and Industrial Photography program in 1980. He also served as the first president of the Ivy Tech Alumni Association at Evansville and later was a member of the Regional Advisory Council.

Nelda used her skills learned in the Business Office to serve as treasurer of a number of church and civic organizations. Tom put his photography degree to good use in photographing wildlife in all seven continents and presenting programs to schools, senior groups, church groups, and various civic organizations.









Dr. Thomas and Nelda Hickey


Other recipients of this year’s Benefactor Awards are:

  • Anderson: Jim Ault
  • Bloomington: Kathy and Randy Vernon
  • Columbus: National Center for Complex Operations
  • Fort Wayne: Brooks Construction Company, Inc.
  • Indianapolis: Susannah Dillon
  • Kokomo: Kokomo Grain Co.
  • Lake County, Valparaiso, Michigan City: Duneland Health Council
  • Lawrenceburg: City of Lawrenceburg
  • Marion: Dr. Harry D. Brickley
  • Muncie: George and Frances Ball Foundation
  • Lafayette: Jim Shook
  • Richmond: First Bank Richmond
  • Sellersburg: Leo Braddock
  • Terre Haute: Lori and Steve Danielson

Speak Your Mind