Jasper Named Indiana Chamber of Commerce City of the Year!

Jasper (NNDC) –

Embracing “the Jasper Way” in business, education and quality of life pursuits has earned Jasper the Indiana Chamber of Commerce’s 2018 Community of the Year award.

Jasper is rich  in German heritage and manufacturing history remain the lifeblood of the community. But its success also is dependent on its ability to look ahead and adapt.

Approximately $200 million in current projects – primarily public-private partnerships – is propelling the city forward. Among those initiatives:

  • The Parklands of Jasper: a 75-acre major urban renewal endeavor featuring two miles of walking trails (including a multi-purpose path), three ponds (all connected by elevated pathways), The Pavilion (an indoor public event space seating 160 people), an adventure play area, musical playground and more.
  • Thyen-Clark Cultural Center: new facility that will house the Jasper Community Arts and Jasper Public Library.
  • Jasper River Centre: a $30 million mixed use development along the Patoka Riverfront. It will include a new hotel and redevelopment of a former factory into 70-plus apartments, retail/office space and public areas.

Jasper Mayor Terry Seitz comments on the Community of the Year designation’s significance: “To be named the (Community of the Year) recipient is a culmination of years of vision, planning and execution by hundreds of people. We are indeed honored.”


(Click on Video for Complete News Conference Coverage) (This is 29 minutes long)

2018 Indiana Chamber Community of the Year Award announcement! Congratulations!!!

Posted by JasperGov – Indiana on Wednesday, September 5, 2018


“Strong public-private partnerships are at the cornerstone of community success,” says Indiana Chamber President Kevin Brinegar. “Jasper leaders have demonstrated the ability to work together for many years and residents have strongly contributed through their immense pride in their city. Jasper is most deserving of this recognition.”

The most recent Indiana Chamber of Commerce Community of the Year recipients:

2017: Goshen
2016: Fishers
2015: Carmel
2014: Bloomington
2013: Bedford
2012: Indianapolis
2011: Kokomo
2010: Terre Haute
2009: Valparaiso
2008: Noblesville

(More to come stay tuned)

Speak Your Mind