Memorial Hospital Announces 2018 LCM Outstanding Physician Award Recipient

Jasper (NNDC) –¬†Karim Anwar, M.D. has been named the 2018 Little Company of Mary (LCM) Outstanding Physician Award recipient at Memorial Hospital and Health Care


This award is named in honor of the Sisters of the Little Company of Mary, the sponsors of
Memorial Hospital. The LCM Award is given annually to a physician on Memorial Hospital’s active medical staff who has been nominated through a hospital- and community-wide nomination process with the winner being chosen by a selection committee from a group of six finalists.

The award is based on outstanding performance reflecting Memorial Hospital’s mission statement and the core values of Respect for Human Dignity, Compassionate Caring, Stewardship, Quality
and Justice. The top six nominees for this year’s award included Dr. Karim Anwar, Dr. Adam Dawkins,Dr. Duane Flannagan, Dr. Mark Luff, Dr. Kevin Lusk, and Dr. Kristin Werne as reported earlier by News Now.

Dr. Anwar received his medical degree at King Edward Medical College in Lahore, Pakistan. He completed his residency in internal medicine at University of Connecticut School of Medicine and
completed a fellowship in hematology and medical oncology at University of Massachusetts School of Medicine. He is board certified in medical oncology and hematology, and was appointed to
the active medical staff of Memorial Hospital in 2012. Dr. Anwar is an oncologist in the Lange-Fuhs Cancer Center at Memorial.

Speak Your Mind