Nass Named 2016 Jasper Rotary ATHENA Leadership Award®

CONNIE NASS / Jasper Rotary Club Photo

CONNIE NASS / Jasper Rotary Club Photo

Huntingburg (NNDC) – Former Huntingburg Mayor Connie Nass was named the fifth recipient of the Jasper Rotary’s ATHENA Leadership Award® a dinner and banquet at the Events Center.

Currenty, Nass is the VP of Nass & Sons, Inc. of Huntingburg.  She served two terms as Mayor of Huntingburg (1988-1996).  She also served on the city council (1980-1988) as the first woman elected to public office in Dubois County; she was also the first woman elected as Mayor to a municipality in the county.

During Nass’ tenure as Mayor, Columbia Pictures selected Huntingburg as one of the main sites for filming the movie, “A League Of Their Own” of which the old grandstand at City Park was completely rebuilt to become what is known today as “League Stadium.”

Nass went on to become the 53rd State Auditor for Indiana and served as Chairperson of the Lincoln Bicentennial in 2006.

DUBOIS REC 1Nass has also served on the advisory board for the American Public Power Association (serving five states) and she’s served on numerous local board of directors including the Dubois County Step Ahead, Substance Abuse Task Force, and the Huntingburg Youth Board.

Nass was named the local ATHENA Leadership Award® from a group of nominees that included Elaine Brames, Co-owner and CFO for Brames Family Farms in Dubois County, Jessica DeLorenzo with Kimball Electronics, Vickie Lewis, Human Resource Director for SERVUS, Inc. of Jasper, Brenda Buehler of “New You” Salons of Jasper and Washington (IN), Greater Jasper Schools superintendent Dr. Tracy Lorey, and Bettie Jenkins, Vice President of MasterBrand Cabinets of Jasper.

Jasper attorney Jane Chappell was the first recipient of the local ATHENA Leadership Award® in 2012; Brenda Stallings was the 2013 recipient; Kathy Tretter was the recipient in 2014, and Nancy Eckerle was the 2015 recipient.

Speak Your Mind