Jasper Swearing-In Ceremony Set For New Year’s Day

dasleben hausJASPER (NNDC) – The City of Jasper will host a formal inauguration ceremony for elected officials News Year’s Day.

The ceremony will take place January 1st at 3:00PM in the Council Chambers of Jasper City Hall.  The public is invited to attend.

Those who will take the oath of office for new four-year terms are Terry Seitz as Mayor, Juanita Boehn as Clerk-Treasurer, and city council members Nancy Eckerle, Dean Vonderheide, Greg Schnarr, John Bell, Dave Hurst, Earl Schmitt and Kevin Manley.

Vonderheide, Bell and Hurst are new to the city council, while Eckerle, who is executive director of the Jasper Chamber of Commerce, is returning to the governing board after 16 years away.  She previously served on the council representing District 5 from 1996-1999.

Schnarr, Schmitt and Manley won reelection in November to the council.

Seitz and Boehm also won relection; Seitz had to survive a recount for a second term.

Long-time council members, Dave Prechtel, Ray Howard and Tom Schmitt are retiring; Schmitt has served on the city council for 40 years.  The three  attended their final council meetings on Wednesday.


Speak Your Mind